Closes 20th July 2020 Рall entries FREE!

Welcome to Staunch Book Prize!

The international award for thrillers in which no woman is beaten, stalked, sexually exploited, raped or murdered.

This unique prize is welcomed by readers all over the world, many of whom had given up on thrillers because of the increasingly graphic violence towards women in the genre. We’re proud to create a little elbow-room for all the clever, exciting and engaging stories out there – published or unpublished – by authors who have found something a little more original to write about!

Have you written or published a novel that fulfils our criteria?

Then enter now!

New for 2020!

Not one but TWO new competitions for short-form thrillers, keeping to the same Staunch criteria as the novel prize.

Go to the FREE Novel Prize

Go to the FREE Short Story Prize

Go to the FREE Flash Fiction Prize

Times are hard for everyone! So instead of a cash prize for one writer, we’ve made all our entries FREE!

2019 Winner

A breathtaking medieval mystery that draws you deep into the isolated village of Oakham where a question hangs over the death of its wealthiest man.

See all 2019 shortlist!